Problems in Paradise: Poor Indoor Air Quality/A C & Ventilation

My background is that of a senior professional in the design and construction of buildings and speciafically these days in hospitality. I have worked in the tropics during my long career and specifically in the Caribbean including Dominican Republic for over 20 years.

Not everybody likes to live in air conditioned properties all the time but many expats and especially those from USA do so.

Most residences and indeed many businesses in DR do not have any air conditioning but increasingly new buildings are fitted with air conditioning systems as standard.

Building Regulations in DR are far from well defined and not as onerous on the Archtect or Builder as would be required in the UK or Europe for sure. There appears no mandatory requirement to replace the fresh within a building so many times an hour as in other countries. Infrequently do you find forced ventilation of buildings to provide fresh air.

So, for expats owners or renters of properties here who choose to close all windows and doors and turn down the temperature on your air conditioing system for their comfort, be aware that at some point or at intervals throughout the day it is prudent to open those windows to replenish fresh air and avoid poor indoor air quality and the effects thereof.

The most common air conditioning systems we find here are split a/c's and they recirculate and cool the air but do not bring in air from outside. One variation (and there are several) found on bigger and commerical properties and hotels involves the use of fan coil units in ceiling voids with short lengths of insulated ductwork fed by chilled water supplied from a central air handling and cooling unit. Again the air is generally being recirculated.