Buying a house in DR

I'm from Canada. Did anyone know when you buy a house in DR the process to be protected?

I live in the US and I am actively working on purchasing a villa in the DR. I'm not an expert, but based on my research I can say that the real estate buying process in DR is similar to what you're used to in North America. 

I would suggest you retain a good lawyer and a good realtor. This forum can be a good resource. Good luck!

Welcome to the forums. Protected from what specifically?

@Dou08

HELLO I'm in the process now I have hired an attorney suggested by my realtor. So far so good

@Dou08

I'm Canadian too...I would suggest retaining both a Real Estate firm and legal representation that are fluent in both English & Spanish, but their first language being ENGLISH.

I think this forum prohibits specific naming of companies, so I can't go there.

While the process is similar, it IS Republica Dominicana....A buddy of mine purchased a house in SD, IN CASH...Doubt that could be done in Canada (or the U.S., U.K., etc).

I think if you ask the planner, she'll help you out...Seems to be knowledgeable and helpful

Have you explored building here? A lot of people will discourage but if you manage it correctly you will save a lot. large majority of houses here are built with a master of construction ( no architect ) they have structural problems; most Dominicans will put in cheap tiles, paint, and electrical system not the mention the horrible quality to begin with. if the house was built with an architect and by a crew they are pretty expensive in good areas. Most real-estate agent's contracts foot the bill to you not the dueño which is normally 10k on something that is about 200kUSD put lack of regulations and anyone can be a real estate agent here or insert title "here" and you have mouse traps everywhere you step here.