Moving to Brazil

Hello I am retiring after 23 years of USA and returning to Brazil. I am a disabled USA Army Veteran, have Disabilities in the USA, can I validate those there?

Also I need to ship Less than a Container, 8-10 boxes, and one electric scooter and one electric bike. I have some IT stuff like 2 monitors, a computer, etc. Lets say total weight 150KG-200KG

Can someone refer me a shipping service, sea shipping cheaper. Thank you.

I already got the proof of residency from the Brazilian COnsulate, so I don't get taxed. Thanks

04/11/24    Hello I am retiring after 23 years of USA and returning to Brazil. I am a disabled USA Army Veteran, have Disabilities in the USA, can I validate those there?
Also I need to ship Less than a Container, 8-10 boxes, and one electric scooter and one electric bike. I have some IT stuff like 2 monitors, a computer, etc. Lets say total weight 150KG-200KG   

-@williamggs

Welcome!  See my response on the Relocation thread regarding movers.

With respect to "validating" your disabilities, I'm not sure what you mean.  If you mean "making them non-taxable under Brazilian law", probably not.  They'll probably be treated as any other pension.  Brazil has a policy against double taxation, so if they're included in your taxable income in the United States, that will help you.  At any rate, you shouldn't have to file income taxes in Brazil until early 2025, and before then you should be able to talk to Brazilian accountant in the city you're moving to in order to arrange the most advantageous treatment possible.

Hello I am retiring after 23 years of USA and returning to Brazil. I am a disabled USA Army Veteran, have Disabilities in the USA, can I validate those there?
Can someone refer me a shipping service, sea shipping cheaper. Thank you.

I already got the proof of residency from the Brazilian COnsulate, so I don't get taxed. Thanks

-@williamggs