Digital Nomad Visa with criminal record

Hello, I'm trying to figure out the logistics on getting a digital nomad visa with a criminal record.

I have 2 convictions, 1 misdemeanor and 1 felony that occurred in 2016 and 2018, respectively. I've the income for the digital nomad visa and everything else, but when I was in my early 20's I ran into some trouble. I'm a freelance web developer with a bachelor's degree in computer science, haven't had any run ins with the police since 2018, except for traffic violations.

I went for a pardon in the state that this happened in, received approval from the board but was denied by the governor. These sentences are completed along with all of the requirements. Will this have a significant impact on getting a digital nomad visa?

07/25/23Hello, I'm trying to figure out the logistics on getting a digital nomad visa with a criminal record.
-@Traveler2140

Good evening.  If you last offense was five years ago and you've completed your sentence and all other requirements, and have documentary proof of that, you stand a good chance of the Consulate approving your application, although they may well request to review the documents themselves. 

If you're rejected, you can let some time pass and reapply later.  Try to ask what you can do to improve your chances next time:  they may not answer, but they may, and it could help.

@abthree Thank you for your swift reply, I've actually been reading some others post related to this topic and saw your responses. Thank you for your insight.

I have read that web developers digital nomads are highly sought after. I have already visited Brazil and will visit again in September. My girlfriend currently lives in Brazil and I read that family reunion visas are a bit different?