The work culture in Egypt

Hello everyone,

As an expatriate, working in Egypt can present unique opportunities but also challenges. Discovering new communication styles, adapting to new cultural norms... working in Egypt can be both exciting and confusing.

Share your experience to better understand the work culture in Egypt and facilitate the professional adaptation of people who are wondering about it:

How would you define the work culture in Egypt?

What was the most difficult thing for you when you started working?

What made the biggest impression on you?

How did you fit into your team?

Thank you for your contribution.
Mickael
Expat.com Team

Few weeks ago I started training in a call center AKA fresh-expats-easy-to-get-job, although I haven't been here long enough, I'd love to share my initial impressions. Egyptians are generally friendly and they want to get to know about you... which if you come from NYC, where most people are blasé (seen it all) and kept to themselves, it can be bit much at times. Because, it feels like you're being interviewed. - It is not the same a mutual exchange of information and engagement, as when you're bombarded by inquisitive questions one after another. If you don't speak Arabic, it is a good idea to double check on what it is being said in front of you, because you may misread signs and think they're making fun of you. Another thing that in general, not just in the workforce, is that they can leave you hanging in the middle of a conversation and start talking to whoever arrive, they don't excuse themselves to pause the current conversation, they simply turn and start engaging in Arabic whoever came into the picture. Another annoying thing I have learned to get used to is that they snap their fingers if they want to grab someone's attention, in the same way you would a pet.