I want to buy a Riad - does anybody out there have experience?

Hello Morocco community!

My name is Robert and I recently ran across this website and am wondering how I didn't find it sooner! I'm currently nomadic (have been for about 7 years now), and have always had a fascination with Morocco. My wife and I have been to Marrakech and Fez, and we'll be returning to Marrakech in just 2 weeks for a short stay.

The purpose of this trip is a bit different though - we've gotten in touch with a real estate company who will be showing us around various Riads in the Medina. I've been thinking about doing this for quite awhile now, but just recently have gotten much more serious about it.

I want to buy a Riad primarily as a small investment, but equally one that I could enjoy from time to time with friends and family. I'm in tech, and I have no experience running AirBnBs or being a "landlord" of any kind. I'd hope to work with a local company, or even just a friendly local who could help keep operations running smoothly.

I plan to buy a Riad with 4-6 bedrooms, within a few minutes walking of Jemaa el-Fna.

I'm wondering if anybody out there could help give me some sense for what I might expect assuming tourism will return to pre-pandemic levels. My understanding is that tourism is still recovering (like in many places) - it's alright by me if it takes time to fill the rooms at the rate they were filled before Covid.

Some questions that come to mind are:

* Is it possible / realistic to run a Riad remotely?
* How do you decide whether run rent the whole Riad, or by the room?
* Pre-covid, how much could one expect to rent a 4 bedroom Riad for per night? 6 bedroom?
* Kind-of unrelated, what are the best ways to be meet and be involved with the local community, even if from afar?

Looking forward to all of your advice!

Best wishes,
Robert

Hello rkotcher,

Welcome to Expat.com  :cheers:

Thank you for sharing your plans with us.