Want to know

Hi everyone ,
I am a Nigerian,I am planning to visit Taiwan soon and would like to know if I can get an English language teaching job.
Your contributions would be highly appreciated.

Thanks,
Newname

Hello Newname,

Welcome to Expat.com :)

I invite you to post your job search for free in the jobs in Taiwan section, it might help you.

Maybe you can tell us more about your motivation to work in Taiwan ?  :happy:

Do you have a degree in english language ?

Thank you,

Priscilla
Expat.com team

Thanks  Priscilla,
I have a degree in Economics with thirteen years teaching experience.
Presently I am in Nigeria but would like to come to Taiwan. I have passion for Mandarin and I hope to learn it soon.

I think it wouldn't be a problem teaching in Taiwan, there are English language schools literally everywhere. You could also consider enrolling into a Mandarin course and perhaps teaching in your spare time, at least that might work out in the beginning until you can find your way to getting a full time teaching job.

I received a BACS Scholarship quite a long time ago and chose to study at the Mandarin Training Center at the National Taiwan Normal University. At that time we had a choice of 3 month, 6 month or 12 month scholarships and a location choice of Taiwan or China. But while attending the university almost everyone taught English on the side. I taught at the Political University as well as at a trading company and several individual students from kids to grown ups.

I am not suggesting attending the MTC but it might be a good idea to consider going to Taiwan to study Mandarin and then once you are there start to teach English.

By the way, I had a Degree in Geology and a Post Graduate Diploma in Modern Chinese but no teaching experience at that time and no degrees in English. However, English is my mother tongue.

Hello  Shill88,
I am so grateful for your  contribution,thanks for showing possible ways to go about it.
Remain blessed.

Regards,