Moving to DR

Hello all,

I am looking to move to the DR. I have visited at least 25 times in the last 6 years and have gone back and forth with moving there or not. After visiting several areas of the country (except the border area) I am pretty much set on Las Terrenas BUT prices have skyrocketed in the last few years and I feel I wouldn't be getting the bang for my buck I want. Anywhere else I should look that has a similar flair?

Thanks all!

I've been coming to LT for 7 years, living here full-time for almost 4. I highly recommend renting for at least 6 months before buying here! Vacationing here and living here are quite different!

Rents are starting to drop a bit as occupancy drops, and it's my opinion that sale prices will start dropping as well. 

Come to LT, rent in a few different areas for a while, and then decide if it's where you want to be long-term

You can also look along the north coast. There are areas where it is still very reasonable!

@ddmcghee Thank you!

I have been to LT many times. I have stayed in "el pueblo", pescadores, Bonita and Ballenas...Ballenas is what I like. I have yet to stay in Punta Popy or Portillo which I hear are nice. I don't need to be right on the beach but want to be able to walk there. I'll wait to buy since you are saying occupancy is getting low.

What about building, is it difficult and expensive?

Thanks again!

Mike V.

@planner Thank you. I have but only the most popular spots Like Cabarete, Sosua and other places near there. I heard Nagua is beautiful an inexpesive but have yet to go. I do like Samana and have also stayed in Las Galeras which is not for me. I have been told to look at Cabrera and Luperon as well. So I think I still have some more to explore.