Golden Visa Citizenship

Boa Noite,

I am a US Citizen who is considering a Golden Visa Citizenship within the next 5-10 years.  My husband and I would like to start the process but have some questions regarding the financial aspect of this citizenship.  If we purchase a residence in Portugal now, are we able to finance and conclude the via process over a period of time? 

If you are eligible, look into a D7 visa. The GV is very expensive and not necessary in a lot of cases.

If you have income from outside of PT such as a pension or property rental, you can apply for the D7 as long as you meet the requirement which is only the Portuguese minimum wage (currently about €830 per month. You don't need to pay an immigration lawyer as you can do everything yourself with a bit of research.

We moved here last year from the UK.

Good luck 👍

@joellensmail  I'm not an expert but as far as I know, there is no time limit to obtaining the visa. However, you do have to be resident in the US at the time you do the visa process. You can stay in Portugal for 90 days ( and they will extend this if you ask). However you would have to leave and be in the US  when you apply and until your visa comes through. Owning a property would probably help the visa process. However, there is a slight risk in that if for some reason they deny your visa, you are stuck with a property that you cannot stay in permanently. As long as you have all the necessary pieces of paper, there is no reason they would deny it. I assume you would be in Portugal when you buy the property? I know several people who bought "sight unseen" and one worked out well, the other very badly.

Olá, bom dia.

@joellensmail,

The Portuguese government has already proposed the end of golden visas, but the law has not yet been discussed in the parliament and legislated. You can find more information here, in english:

https://nomadgate.com/portugal-golden-v … -for-real/

Best Regards