ECC-A versus ECC-B exit clearance

I've been to the Philippines 9 times but this is my first time staying for more than 6 months.  I am returning to Canada in June and have just learned that I will need an ECC certificate to leave the country.  There are 2 different ECC certificates; ECC-A and ECC-B.  As usual, the PHP website is as clear as mud when it comes to explaining the difference. 

The ECC-A applies to "Holders of Temporary Visitor Visa (also referred to as tourist visa) who have stayed in the Philippines for six (6) months or more".  That would be me!  But further along it says if you have an ACR-I card you have to forfeit that card.  Having just renewed mine, seems a bit "unreasonable".  The ECC-A should be obtained at least 3 days prior to departure.

The ECC-B is "issued to departing Immigrant and Non-Immigrant visa holders with a valid ACR I-Card and are leaving the country but are planning to return."   Since the tourist visa is a non-immigrant visa, this is also me as I plan to return in October.  The ECC-B can be obtained at the airport on the day of your departure.

So you may understand my initial confusion as there is definite overlap in their descriptions and application.  At this point I am planning to get the ECC-B which I can get at the airport on the day of my departure.

I am posting to the forum to inquire if anyone has "direct, personal" experience with the ECC certification and can share those experiences including any documentation requirements.

Thanks in advance,

...Wes

Only my experience as a long term visitor I had to go the EEC A and 500 pesos later? No problems.

The problems start with Covid clearance and all the paperwork involved and crap they require to not only exit but return to PH.

Cheers, Steve.